Palace on Wheels

We relished the lifestyles of the kings of yore on board the Palace on Wheels, while listening to the silent tales of glory and valor told by the majestic forts and splendid palaces of Rajasthan.
The Palace on wheels is rated as one of the top ten luxury train journeys in the world (Also 1 of the must-sees in the “1000 places to see before you die”). We enjoyed a heart-rending trip to the splendid forts and palaces of Rajasthan in just seven days.

Bagpipes- British Colonial influence- welcome us royally :D

We are showered with flowers and we each receive our bindi blessing on our foreheads before we board.

My boarding pass is stamped and I’m good to go!

Oh… and some monkeys decide to tag along as well :)

On board we mingle with our fellow passengers and compartment neighbours over some welcome drinks :) a lovely bunch!

The breath-taking view from our cabin… I couldn’t ask for more (being the rain-maniac I am)… Also- note: nothing beats making love on a train :) I’m definitely squeezing in a train ride on my honeymoon :P

My muscles ache ;) so I decide to go for a massage in our very own royal spa!

After the massage and my many activities ;) I’m left starving… So we head to lunch.

The living room where I spent countless nights watching Indian movies. Amongst them, my favourite, “Mother India”- my tears pour into buckets! :'(

  

looked forward to their water bottles- very creative, I like!

~ by Disturbed Stranger on March 5, 2011.