My Life in Ruins

My life lay in ruins at my feet… Protected by nothing now but my long shadow. Sinners cast longer shadows… Why is that I wonder?
Vast deserted areas of land as far as the eyes could see surrounded me. No signs of people. No signs of life. But I had survived. I had survived the trauma, the lies, the foolishness and the humiliation.
Now, trying to pick up what’s left of the broken pieces and move on past this sickening hollowness.
I pushed a worn down rusty trolley between the wreck… Carefully scavenging the damaged remains. A reflection from underneath a monstrous rock caught my eyes. I tried to pull at it from underneath the massive weight- beads of sweat made their way down my face and back.
Got it. It was my Pride.
As I placed it gently into the trolley something lit up in me and before I knew it, I was standing on Hope. So I picked that up too; gazing at it for a minute tears flushing away sweat- relief.
I looked towards the horizon and caught the breeze of the Sun’s departure- tangling my hair and taking with it those droplets of sweat behind my neck- before it sunk into the ground.
My trolley was full; I had gotten back everything a normal life would need.

I closed my eyes against the darkness and gripped my trolley hard: Satisfaction– the key.
And when I opened my eyes again the brightness was overwhelming!

I was back.
But where was back?

Who cares? It was damn good.

~ by Disturbed Stranger on May 11, 2010.

 
