My Awakening

dark-hospital

 The constant beeping disrupts my sleep.

Beep… Beep… Beep…

I open my eyes to a poorly lit room- supposedly white- but the fluorescent lights reflecting off the over-polished, smooth walls gave the room its quiet colour. A hunched figure- I quickly recognized- slept on the sofa by my side. Exhausted after having waited for me to wake up I suppose. Twisting my head I caught the time behind me. 1:37a.m. Was I out that long? I test my strength and lift my arm. Good. Pushing away the blanket I pull myself up with the aid of a metal bar at the edge of my bed. Cold. My warm hand leaves its mark on the cold metal piece before completely vanishing… The floor is worse. My bare feet flinch at the first touch. Adjusted. I walk over to the fatigued creature. It breathes heavily, eyes rolling under eyelids. How I’ve wronged you. How I wrong you still. Looking over my shoulder the bar of light from under the door magnetize me. I clasp the cold handle. No sound. No movement. I’m compelled to explore. I slowly open the door and step outside…

I haven’t been here before. Facing me was an empty reception, to my left a series of lifts and to my right an extended dark hallway. I find myself being led by curious feet. No rooms yet, however it was the silence that was disturbing. Not only could I hear my breathing and pounding heart… but the rushing of blood to my urging-for-sound ears.

Somewhere at the end of the hallway, in an isolated room he lay in a lonely worn out bed. There was an unremitting buzzing sound coming from somewhere- probably one of the numerous machines that were attached to him. Pin cushioned with tubes and needles he lay innate. No flowers. No get-well cards. No remnants of visitors at all. The wall paper on the cracked walls which seemed to be white once where of a creamy colour. The walls were divided by long black trails of a possibly old water leakage. The floor was no better, blotched and stained, and somewhere in the centre- marks-where a heavy object was dragged. Filth. The janitors had given up cleaning this “hopeless” room. I couldn’t help but shed a tear… or two… I can’t remember but a feeling arose in me. A warm feeling… “gratitude”. I hurried back.

Once again I was back in what seemed now like the most beautiful room in the world. I stared at the misjudged detested figure for a moment before curling into its arms. It awoke, looking into my eyes with sleepiness it smiled, kissed my forehead and adjusted its arms to my comfort… always to my comfort…as we both drifted off to sleep…

Thank you…

~ by Disturbed Stranger on March 15, 2009.

 
